Reckless driving is a class 1 misdemeanor in the Commonwealth of Virginia. VA reckless driving penalties are quite severe and result in maximum punishments of:
- $2500 monetary charges
- Six (6) DMV points
- Driver’s license suspension for six months
- Jail time for 12 months
As per Virginia Code, “An individual shall be guilty of the reckless driving offense who drives an auto vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth of Virginia (i) at a speed of 20 mph or more than the applicable highest speed limit or (ii) more than 80 mph irrespective of the applicable highest speed limit.”
Reckless driving is sufficient to illustrate the behavior as dangerous enough to harm others’ life or property. It is by all the facts, taking into account the circumstances, the temperature, the place of the events, etc., combined with an excess of speed, that the conduct complained of may be compared with that of a reasonable person placed in the same situation. This assessment will determine the intensity of guilt and VA reckless driving penalties.
Action or driving fault
When an offense is committed because of recklessness, it is not essential that the act of the defendant be unlawful. At first glance, all events linking the offense in all circumstances are likely to endanger the life or safety of others.
The order of degree of the fault:
- Momentary inattention that generates civil liability,
- Conduct without the care and caution mentioned in the Highway Safety Code,
- So-Called dangerous conduct, and
- Criminal reckless.
It takes more than a civil fault. In fact, more than a violation of the Code of Road Safety, reckless driving encompasses imprudent behavior and that it incurs the risks mentioned above.
The evidence must be analyzed as a whole, taking into account all the particular circumstances in order to be able to see if the conduct is moving away from a reasonable person when placed in the same situation.
Besides fine, DMV points, jail time and suspension of driver’s license, VA reckless driving penalties also include one of the constant concerns of drivers, knowing what will happen to their car insurance after having suffered a vehicle accident, and above all, with the amount to pay for it.
Let’s start considering something very important: most insurers rely on the user’s management history to estimate the amount of their coverage. If the applicant has suffered vehicular accidents before or has been sanctioned for violating the rules and regulations of management, or charged with reckless driving offense, then the applicant is considered as a driver that implies a greater risk for the company and therefore insuring it will have a higher cost.
These “risk increases” are usually considered when there is a claim that exceeds a stipulated amount. This is known in English as Chargeable Claim, and what does this mean? If the insured is identified as causing a vehicular accident, a claim will be filed against the applicant. With each claim filed against the user, the individual’s risk level will rise and the cost of your auto insurance policy follows.
VA Reckless Driving Penalties – call us at 888-437-7747.